The Shakespeare Curse

The tagline reads: A sickening modern killer – driven by a centuries old curse …

The Shakespeare Curse is a follow on from The Shakespeare Secret (both written by J. L. Carrell), which I read a couple of years ago and couldn’t put down.  I stumbled across the second book in a shop and was glad I did as this is another page turner.

Set in the modern-day it continues to deal with the conspiracies surrounding Shakespeare and his plays.  I love the characters and the way they are written, Kate Stanley a Shakespeare historian and her beau from the last book Ben (who I picture as a similar sort of guy to John Reece in Person of Interest, someone who can’t quite tell you what their job is).  It seems that in the interim between books their relationship hit a rough patch and they split up, I have every hope that this turns around!

The story line surrounds the “Scottish Play” and the supposed curse that is linked to the play and the people who have enacted it.  Much has been documented over the years about actors superstitions when performing the play and the book explains the origins of these superstitions.

I’m not quite a third of the way in so I don’t know how it will end but I do know I can’t wait to find out.  If you are interested in conspiracy theory stories give The Shakespeare Secret and The Shakespeare Curse a try, I’m sure you will enjoy them.

Update: The book was really good, it had lots of twists and turns and I loved the historical references.  At the end the author included a break down of the details in the book and how and where the information came from which is interesting for other writers to see how to undertake the research for this genre of book.  She also listed her reasoning behind some of the assumptions and poetic licence she took with some of the characters to enrich the story. Thoroughly enjoyable and I would recommend both books to anyone who enjoys a Da Vinci Code type of story.

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

