Altar of Bones by Philip Carter

My choice of holiday reading this year was Altar of Bones.  The mysterious cover drew me in when I was getting a last-minute birthday present for my Nan in The Works and again my instinct didn’t let me down.

Italy 2013 042

This book drew you in with plot turns at the start and kept going all the way through to the end.  The characters were almost realistic and I could picture the action as if watching a movie in front of me.  It wouldn’t surprise me if one day it did become a movie, only they might not want people searching for a fountain of youth!

It made me think if there was such thing as a fountain of youth modern society would lap it up but what would be the longer term impacts of that?  What happens if the fountain dries up through over use?  Who controls the access to the fountain in the first place?  It would probably be auctioned to the highest bidders but what makes the wealthy any more deserving of eternal life?  Would having eternal life really make you happy if the people you loved were dying all around you?  I guess for some people eternal life would be an attractive prospect but I would imagine that for the wider population it would be more beneficial for these people to live normal life times.

I think I could safely say that if there was a fountain of youth hidden somewhere out there I wouldn’t be rushing to drink from it.  With the inventions in modern science people are living to increasingly old age and that is good enough for me.

I would give this book 4/5.

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

