The White Queen

I just finished reading Philippa Gregory’s The White Queen, I started reading the book as I have been watching the TV show and became engrossed in it.  I have long wanted to read Philippa’s books as I love historical books from that era.

I find it fascinating that in order to run a country you had to start a war.  If someone wanted to be in charge they started a war with the allies that could make it happen.  People changed sides as often as they liked to benefit themselves.

We complain about how the country is run today but we don’t send thousands of men and boys onto a battlefield with no training and basic weapons at vast expense both monetary and humanitarian to change the government of our country.  Or do we?

I loved all the characters in the book and how it was written from the perspective of the Queen rather than the King.  So often with historical books and TV shows it is written from the male perspective and the often important roles of the women behind the scenes rarely get a mention.

Elizabeth Woodville who became the White Queen was an interesting woman.  She looked after those who were important to her and may even have called upon a water goddess to help her protect them.  Who hasn’t wished they could call upon some hidden secret power to achieve the thing they wanted the most? Well maybe not, she was suspected of being a witch.

If you are interested in the War of the Roses or the Cousins War as some call it then I would recommend this female perspective.  I will definitely be reading the rest of the books in the series to fully understand the interesting characters from our countries past.

The series is out on DVD this month if you have missed it, I have pre-ordered my copy so I can re-watch in full now I have finished the book.

photo (1)

2 responses

  1. Philippa Gregory has been on my to-read list for a while! I really want to read her book. Great review.

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

