Places to Visit: Gunnersbury Park

Gunnersbury Park is located at Popes Lane, London, Greater London W3 8LQ and is a lovely place for an afternoon walk.

Gunnersbury Park Mansion

Gunnersbury Park Mansion

The site consists of football, cricket and rugby pitches, duck pond, children’s play area, putting green and pitch and putt course and the Gunnersbury Park Mansions.

The park itself is steeped in history which you can read about here:

http://www.hounslow.gov.uk/gunnersbury

http://www.hounslow.info/arts-culture/historic-houses-museums/gunnersbury-park-museum/

I love walking around the park. There are lots of different types of trees and some are just beautiful, especially getting towards sunset.

026

Even though I have walked the entire park on more than one occasion and have been inside the house/ museum I always seem to find a part I don’t remember.

Yesterday that part was the Gothic Ruins, they fascinated me.  As I walked round taking them all in, my mind was running wild with potential characters and stories.

008

I found the broken archways quite sad, they were once part of something much bigger but now they are all that remained of the past.

022

Princess Amelia’s Bath House has always fascinated me. It looks like a castle and is by far the biggest bathroom I have ever seen. Unfortunately I have never had the pleasure of seeing the inside as it only open to the public on certain occasions.

046

I love the mansions, they have so much character but are in need of some serious TLC.

I would love nothing more than to see them returned to their former glory and perhaps turned into something that could be frequently used perhaps a hotel with conference facilities or a wedding venue.

059

 

Next time you fancy some fresh air have a walk around Gunnersbury Park and see if you find as much to fall in love with as I did.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

