Tribute to Marc Bolan

Elton John, Marc Bolan and Ringo Starr

Elton John, Marc Bolan and Ringo Starr

Today would have been the wonderful Marc Bolan’s (Born Mark Feld on 30 September 1947) 66th birthday and although he’s gone he will never be forgotten.

His music has brought me much happiness; if you have never heard any T Rex songs head over to You Tube there are plenty of videos and interviews for you to check out.

I went to the concert at the Shepherds Bush Empire in 2007 to mark the 30th Anniversary of his tragic passing on 16 September 1977 just short of his 30th birthday where I bumped into Gloria Jones, literally in the corridor.

So here’s to you Marc with love and thanks for leaving us the music!

3 responses

  1. What a great tribute, C! You have never mentioned that you met Gloria Jones, that must’ve been fantastic. I wonder if their son Roland was there too.

    1. He was due to be there but he lost his passport and couldn’t fly. I have the concert on DVD.

      I went into the foyer to get a programme and bumped into a woman, it was only as we turned to apologise to each other I realised who she was. I was so excited I was that close to her.

      When I got back to the stage I told my Mum and Dad (who I went with as they are both fans) and neither of them knew who she was!

  2. I did write Rolan, but it was auto corrected before I noticed it.

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

