Tuesday Cinema Club: Saving Mr Banks

After a couple of weeks break the Tuesday Cinema Club reformed last night with Saving Mr Banks the chosen film.

Mary Poppins is a movie I watched and enjoyed numerous times as a child and it’s still quite special watching it now as an adult.  You can’t help but fall in love with Mary Poppins and wish you had her around to help you tidy up from time to time.

What I never realised or thought about was where she came from. It never occurred to me it was a book made into a movie.

It occurred even less that the story behind Mary Poppins could be such a sad one. I shed a few tears in the cinema last night and from the sounds of things I wasn’t the only one.  Its been a long time since I saw a movie in the cinema that made my cry.

I thought the casting of the movie was very good.  I loved Tom Hanks as Walt Disney.  If you love Mary Poppins go and see this movie and find out the story behind why she was such a special character to the author P. L. Travers.

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

