Sunday Writing Exercise A – Z Song Lines

I was having trouble sleeping last night, which is becoming an all too regular occurrence for me of late. In order to get back to sleep I was trying to think of song lines beginning with each letter of the alphabet in turn.

On waking I decided to give writing them out a go. So here’s the list of song lines I came up with:

A – All my life I’ve been searching for something (All My Life, Foo Fighters)

B – Black velvet and that little boy’s smile (Black Velvet, Alannah Myles)

C – ‘Cause the very thing that I love’s killing me and I can’t conquer it (The Monsters, Eminem & Rhianna)

D – Did you know, could you tell, you were the only one, that I ever loved (My Favourite Mistake, Sheryl Crow)

E – Everyday I love you less and less (Everyday I Love You Less and Less, Kaiser Chiefs)

F – Fear of the dark, fear of the dark (Fear of The Dark, Iron Maiden)

G – Give me your daughter (Planet Queen, TRex)

H – Hypnotizing, mesmerizing me (December 1963, Oh What a Night, Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons)

I – I gave you all the love I had in me (Stop, Sam Brown)

J – Just then I realised what a fool I could be (Never Forget, Take That)

K – Keep on moving, don’t stop, no (Keep On Moving, Soul II Soul)

L – Love’s happiness is just an illusion (What Becomes of the Broken Hearted, Jimmy Ruffin)

M – Mentally weak, oh yes you are (Girl, TRex)

N – No more moving slow (Skip To The Good Bit, Rizzle Kicks)

O – Oh, Saturday night at the movies (Saturday Night at the Movies, The Drifters)

P – People will say we’re in love (People Will Say We’re in Love, Frank Sinatra)

Q – Quit playin’ games with my heart (Quit Playin’ Games With My Heart, Backstreet Boys)

R – Remember The Times, (Remember The Time, Michael Jackson)

S – Seems like we’re makin’ up more than we’re makin’ love (Crazy, Aerosmith)

T – There’s more room in a broken heart (Coming Around Again, Carly Simon)

U – Under the boardwalk, down by the sea (Under the Boardwalk, The Drifters)

V – Victory over the sun (Victory Over the Sun, Biffy Clyro)

W – We’re worlds apart but now I see, I’m in your heart whenever we are apart (We Share the Same Sun, Stereophonics)

X – In Xanadu did Kublai Khan (Ok a slight cheat! Welcome to the Pleasuredome, Frankie Goes to Hollywood)

Y – You see this means everything to me (Are Friends Electric, Gary Numan/ Tubeway Army)

Z – Zombie, zombie, zombie, (Zombie, The Cranberries)

It was actually quite hard work to find lines that began with all the letters of the alphabet. Anyone got some better suggestions?

2 responses

    1. You are always on my mind..

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

