Why I’m Bored With Celebrity Magazines

Yesterday I looked through some old celebrity magazines I’d been given. I didn’t know half of the women in the magazines. I have no idea what they are famous for or have contributed to the world.

After flicking through pages of women living a life I am supposed to want I realised something. To me the women with natural figures were being picked on for being over weight. The ones I thought were too skinny were being praised for their beauty.

What does that say about me? What are they trying to tell me? I was left feeling wholly inadequate.

I went over to Twitter and had a look at some of the pictures the men I follow retweet. All of them were of half-naked women with enviable figures. How am I supposed to compete with that?

Then I remembered something. Those women don’t actually look like that.

Thanks media and celebrity magazines. You are selling men images of women who mostly don’t look like their pictures for us normal women to compete with. As if finding a potential suitor isn’t hard enough.

I guess I could be that attractive with someone professionally applying my hair and make up and dressing me. Someone air-brushing the photos, perking my boobs, smoothing my lines, removing my imperfections.

I think it would be interesting to see under every photograph the number of corrections that have been made so that we can realise just how doctored the images we are being fed are.

I am not stick thin, I consider myself to be a healthy curvy shape. I lost weight in the last year and my body shape has tightened up. I could lose more.

But here’s the thing. Being a real woman I also have spots, wobbly bits, stretch marks, cellulite, grey hair (well I did before reaching for the hair dye this morning, sshhh) and some lumps and bumps. I don’t consider myself to be attractive or beautiful but one thing I have to be is happy in my body.

I don’t have an entourage of people to dress me and make sure I look presentable. I have a wardrobe full of trousers, jeans, casual tops, boots and trainers. That is my fashion, I understand it, its easy and its comfortable.

On the odd occasion I end up going somewhere I do venture into the world of girls and go for a dress or top/ leggings and make up and I always wish I had someone to dress me and make me look presentable.

I really objected to the way those magazines made me feel about myself. Selling me an idea that those women are better than me when I don’t even know who they are or what they contribute to the world.

Don’t we as women put enough pressure on ourselves to conform to the ideas that the media portray we should want. A house, a husband, a career, a family, holidays in the right places, dinners in the right restaurants and a figure to die for. But really should we be doing that to ourselves?

Who do you know living the lifestyle you see portrayed in the movies?

All of my friends are married with children. Not many of them have what jobs to die for and most are living fairly basic lives judging by societies standards due to the cost of living. But the crucial thing is they are happy.

Shouldn’t our happiness be the most important thing in our lives?

Not whether we wear a size 10 or a size 16. I mean look at those women, do any of them look truly happy? They are probably starving half the time and that’s a shame when the world is full of lovely food.

If you want to be a better version of yourself then do whatever it takes to be that. If you want to lose weight, do it. If you like eating, do it.

I like eating. I like trying new food. But in order to lose weight I had to control the amount of junk food I eat.

Watching TV is the killer. You’re alone, no-one to talk to and your hand just keeps going into the bag and then your mouth with comfort. If you can control that reflex you will see a change in your weight.

But be happy being you. It’s the only constant you will ever have in your life. If you can’t be happy with being you then others won’t be happy with you either.

As for celebrity magazines I think I’ll be giving them a miss in the future.

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

