Be Awesome – Modern Life for Modern Ladies by Hadley Freeman

photo (19)

This review is a little overdue as I’m already a quarter of the way through my next book.

I met Hadley at a talk that formed part of the Chorleywood Literary Festival last October and brought the book straight after as her ideas were interesting to me. Not being a Guardian reader I hadn’t come across her writing and knew nothing of her work before I went to the talk, which I have previously written about.

I found the book really funny in places and in others it made me think. The chapters are headed about specific topics rather than just rambling through like a novel, so it’s easy to pick up and put down as time allows.

The writing style is really easy and friendly, it’s like sitting and having a chat with your girlfriend over coffee.

One of my favourite chapters was entitled “How to cheer up your friend who is depressed about being single without lying to them, patronising them or making them feel even worse.”  I think I might even have had a tear in my eye through that one.

I’ve lost track of the times my all now married with children friends have told me that I will find the perfect man if I just put myself out there more as I’m such a great person and I’m really pretty I just don’t see it. But I digress.

I really enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it.

 

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

