A Great British Weekend

For me there are two sporting events I look forward to every year for different reasons; The University Boat Race and the Grand National and this year they fall on the same weekend.

I always look forward to seeing the Runners and Riders in the newspaper and pick my horses based on colours and names. This year two of my choices were picked because when I read the names they reminded me of people. My choices were Shakalackaboomboom, One in a Milan and Monbeg Dude, and I didn’t win but then I often don’t.

I love watching the race, its exciting and scary at the same time. Every time a horse falls I’m hoping the horse and the rider will be ok. I love watching the speed of the horses and the way the loose horses continue to run, often causing havoc in their wake.

The Boat Race is a big deal in our house because of my Grandad. When he was at school kids would bar the doors to stop you from entering if you were rooting for the wrong team. I had to pick between “Oxo Cubes” and “Cabbage Stumps” as he used to call them or Oxford and Cambridge as they are more commonly known.

I chose Oxford and I’ve seen them win quite a few of the races I’ve been to see. We usually wait along the towpath in view of the finish line or on Chiswick Bridge just past it. I’m hoping tomorrow the weather will be better than last year but it looks unlikely so I guess I’ll have to wrap up warm. #ComeonOxford

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

