Quotes

I was feeling a bit melancoly today so I went in search of some quotes on Goodreads to cheer me up. Here are some of the ones I enjoyed:

“There is nothing I would not do for those who are really my friends. I have no notion of loving people by halves, it is not my nature.”
― Jane AustenNorthanger Abbey

“Promise me you’ll always remember: You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.”
― A.A. Milne

“Well, it seems to me that the best relationships – the ones that last – are frequently the ones that are rooted in friendship. You know, one day you look at the person and you see something more than you did the night before. Like a switch has been flicked somewhere. And the person who was just a friend is… suddenly the only person you can ever imagine yourself with.”
― Gillian Anderson

“The best love is the kind that awakens the soul and makes us reach for more, that plants a fire in our hearts and brings peace to our minds. And that’s what you’ve given me. That’s what I’d hoped to give you forever”
― Nicholas Sparks

“Love is the absence of judgment.”
― Dalai Lama XIV

“Absence diminishes small loves and increases great ones, as the wind blows out the candle and fans the bonfire.”
― François La RochefoucauldMaxims

“I guess by now I should know enough about loss to realize that you never really stop missing someone-you just learn to live around the huge gaping hole of their absence.”
― Alyson NoelEvermore

“Why is love intensified by absence?”
― Audrey NiffeneggerThe Time Traveler’s Wife

“You try to be faithful
And sometimes you’re cruel.
You are mine. Then, you leave.
Without you, I can’t cope.

And when you take the lead,
I become your footstep.
Your absence leaves a void.
Without you, I can’t cope.

You have disturbed my sleep,
You have wrecked my image.
You have set me apart.
Without you, I can’t cope.”
― RumiLove: The Joy That Wounds: The Love Poems of Rumi

“Depression is the most unpleasant thing I have ever experienced. . . . It is that absence of being able to envisage that you will ever be cheerful again. The absence of hope. That very deadened feeling, which is so very different from feeling sad. Sad hurts but it’s a healthy feeling. It is a necessary thing to feel. Depression is very different.”
― J.K. Rowling

“Of course I’ll hurt you. Of course you’ll hurt me. Of course we will hurt each other. But this is the very condition of existence. To become spring, means accepting the risk of winter. To become presence, means accepting the risk of absence.”
― Antoine de Saint-ExupéryThe Little Prince

“It is not a lack of love, but a lack of friendship that makes unhappy marriages.”
― Friedrich Nietzsche

“The truth is, everyone is going to hurt you. You just got to find the ones worth suffering for.”
― Bob Marley

Anonymous
I hate the stars because I look at the same ones as you do, without you.

Anonymous
A part of you has grown in me.
And so you see, it’s you and me
Together forever and never apart,
Maybe in distance, but never in heart.

This is something I wrote a long time ago but I’ve never been sure of what it was, it lingers around and I keep hoping it will develop into something more but it never does:

Time takes and love divides us

But I’ll never break your heart in two

The time between

The space we see

Will never bring me back to you

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

