Are You Laughing When You Text ‘lol’?

It occurred to me yesterday, being a jokey person, a lot of people respond to my messages with ‘lol’.

I tend to spend a lot of time trying to make people laugh, it makes me happy and appeals to my mischievous side.

My friend thinks I’m goofy and sometimes laughs at me rather than with me, but hey she is still laughing! I do come across as goofy a lot, things often sound funnier in my head but get lost in the delivery.

I asked someone yesterday if they were actually laughing when they responded ‘lol’ at my attempt to make them laugh. The response was no.

It made me feel sad. I thought the person found me funny but they were just humoring me. It’s one thing to not make someone laugh, you learn the things they like and don’t like, but when you think you’re making them laugh and you’re not it’s a weird feeling of sadness and hurt.

I personally only use ‘lol’ or ‘lmao’ or ‘haha’ if I am actually laughing. I laugh a lot. Surely that is the point, to let the person know you are laughing? I can’t be the only one who does this?

Is everyone but me writing ‘lol’ but not laughing? If so a part of me thinks that’s sad. Laughing is an important part of life, it makes us all feel better. If we artificially use it then doesn’t it lose its meaning? Why say ‘lol’ if you aren’t laughing?

I always try to find the humour in life, it helps to keep me happy. I learned yesterday I’m not as funny as I think I am. Maybe I need to take a holiday from playing the fool 😦

5 responses

  1. lol (actually laughing.) Don’t take holidays from yourself. Will never outrun your funny bone, just keep at it if it makes you happy. 🙂

    1. Thanks, I’m feeling better now and back to my usual self! 🙂

      1. Good to hear 🙂

  2. well i actually laugh at you. you make me laugh, cause you are pretty silly. but i think it’s also cause you and i are so close and open with each other. i mean if i can’t honestly tell YOU something, i can’t tell anyone. i adore you. stay the way you are. you are so fucking awesome!

    1. Oh stop, you’ll make me cry :p

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

