An Invention Test

As I said last week I won my first writing competition. It wasn’t the usual type of writing I’m used to, I entered because my friend dared me to so I was surprised when I won.

As part of winning I have been offered the chance to write a story a day for a month. The site draws 50,000 hits a month. Potentially 50,000 people could have seen and read my story and want to read more of what I write.

This is a fantastic opportunity for me to showcase my writing and I’m really excited by it. The only problem I have is output. A story a day is a lot of output, they would accept less, that’s not a problem.

Finding the inspiration, creating a biography for the writer and the back story of the winning entry is proving hard. I need to create a character for me to write these stories as. To tap into a side of myself I haven’t spent much time exploring and create a believable character to do the writing justice.

The opportunity to find 50,000 readers from all over the world who might appreciate my writing means I have to at least try. The only other story of its kind I posted got some positive and interesting reviews so maybe I can do this.

I sat down yesterday and wrote a story, I had the idea for another this morning but I still need that spark of inspiration. The thing that lead me to write the winning story in the first place. Replicating that will be hard.

I have a set of photo’s I use from time to time when I need inspiration but coming up with a stream of stories that are interesting and varied will be a challenge. I think it will be a fun challenge. Better start doing some research!

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

