Fathers Day

As it was Father’s Day my Dad got to pick what we did for the day. He chose punting on the river at Oxford followed by a BBQ at home.

He’s not the most athletic and he doesn’t have the best balance but he was adamant he was punting the boat himself and not getting someone who knew what they were doing to do it for us.

We all got into the boat, he tried to reverse it out and pulled the punt out the water and over my head to change direction at least twice in the 100 yards we traveled under his power. He beached us against a wall and my sister’s boyfriend had to take over.

He’s standing at the back punting, my dad is sitting like a lord barking the odd instruction, I’m kneeling in the middle trying to balance and direct everyone and my sister is kneeling on the front paddling. Longest hour ever!

We managed to semi-successfully navigate the island and get back home without sinking or ending up in the river so we’ll call it a success. We were all pretty pissed off by the time we finished.

Luckily I didn’t inherit my Dad’s stubborn streak I know my limitations! I did have a go at paddling but I knew punting was beyond me.

We did have a visit to Patisserie Valerie to have a rest afterwards which was nice.

We were all pretty tired when it came to doing the BBQ when we got home. He was happy though and that’s the main thing.

I’m sure we’ll laugh about the punting sometime soon, but right now it’s better quickly forgotten! We did beat the straw boater guys who were lording it over us and laughing at our unorthodox style so that was a plus!

 

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

