Wednesday Cinema Club: Jersey Boys

I’m sitting here writing this listening to The Greatest Hits of Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons: Jersey’s Best. I forgot how much I love Frankie Valli, Bob Gaudio’s music and Bob Crewe’s lyrics. How many people have slow danced and fell in love to them over the years!

While I’m indulging myself in the music my favourites are My Eyes Adored You, Can’t Take My Eyes Off You, Let’s Hang On, Beggin’, Who Loves You, The Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore and December 1963 (Oh What A Night). I can’t listen to them without wanting to dance in fact I’m chair dancing as I write this.

 

According to my Mum December 1963 (Oh What A Night) was the first song I knew all the words to, fun fact for you! 🙂

I guess my love for music from this era goes back to family parties when I was little. Music was a big part of them and we’d dance to the old classics. Well that and playing snooker and darts on a Saturday afternoon with my Grandad, music playing in the background and our dance breaks. Me standing on his feet being led round the room while he sung to me. We still have the odd dance now, if there is music playing we are usually singing and dancing to it.

So to the movie. If you’ve seen the stage show it will be familiar to you, if you haven’t seen the show, I recommend it.

The movie is the stage show with location sets instead of one stage. It missed a trick a bit, it could have told you more you didn’t know but it doesn’t matter it was still great.

When ‘Frankie’ is singing My Eye’s Adored You to Francine to help her sleep I had tears rolling down my cheek. In fact I cried a couple of times. But then I’m a crier, and a sucker for a sob story!

The story of the Four Seasons is interesting. It tells you a lot about friendship and the ties that bind us. What Frankie did to help his friend Tommy was pretty impressive.

If Joey ‘Fishes’ Pesci had never introduced them to Bob Gaudio would we ever have had the music?

What a shame it would have been if Frankie’s voice had just stayed in bowling alleys and backstreet bars instead of being known the world over.

If you like music and a good story, go see the film. If you like the film go see the stage show and if you don’t have a Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons Album in your record collection, what do you dance to at your parties?!!

Oh I should probably say the songs will get stuck in your head for weeks!

‘And I felt a rush like a rolling bolt of thunder
Spinning my head around and taking my body under
Oh, what a night’

December 1963 (Oh What A Night)

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

