Tuesday Cinema Club: Boyhood

I didn’t really know much about this movie prior to seeing it, my sister said they filmed it with the same cast over a period of years so I didn’t really know what to expect.

I have no idea how they managed to get the idea of the film through to production but it is really good. The idea that in the space of a couple of hours you go through the stages of growing up with one person playing the same character rather than different actors is unique and it added to the experience.

I really enjoyed the movie, it was slow in places and it probably went on a fraction too long but it was like a real life look at a child growing into a man. It felt natural rather than scripted and it really was a unique cinematic experience.

I just viewed the page for the movie on IMDB and it turns out the girl playing the sister is the writer/ directors daughter so it must have been an interesting experience for him to make the movie too.

Boyhood

I thought the young lad Ellar Coltrane, who you see grow up throughout the movie was very good in what must have been a strange film to watch as a completed project, watching himself change dramatically over a period of hours.

I would recommend the film to avid cinema fans, if you want a feel good movie or fast paced action then this isn’t it, it probably isn’t the kind of movie you’ll go back and watch time and again either but it is well worth the admission fee.

 

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

