The World According to Clarkson Volume 4 by Jeremy Clarkson

photo

 

Not everyone likes Jeremy Clarkson but I find him quite funny. That’s not to say I agree with everything he says and does. I’ve read some of his newspaper columns and while most of it is usually rambling nonsense on occasion he makes an interesting point, often in a completely offensive way.

This book is a collection of his Sunday Times columns from 2008 and 2009, a bit out of date but then it has been sitting in my reading pile for quite a while.

Quite a lot of the columns made me laugh out loud, some made me consider that he might have a point on some issues even if he goes about addressing it the wrong way and the rest was just typical Clarkson.

I understand why people find him offensive and why he keeps getting into trouble but I think a part of that at times is the world seems to be loosing their sense of humour. Everyone takes everything so seriously.

There are obviously times when a joke is wholly inappropriate and should have repercussions but some things are better laughed off or ignored so as not to fuel the flames any further. I wonder if the reason people challenge him so much is the additional publicity they achieve by being outraged by his behaviour, but then I can be a bit cynical at times.

If you like Jeremy Clarkson and you’re looking for a book you can easily dip in and out of then give it a go. If you don’t like him don’t bother!

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

