Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger

IMG_2062

 

This was my first venture into reading steampunk and I quite enjoyed it. Again I chose it for the cover so had no idea what it was about before reading.

It follows the story of a girl sent away to finishing school, unbeknown to her that it is no ordinary finishing school. It’s a finishing school for woman who live a more devious life.

While normal schools teach the 3 R’s this school is a floating wonderland that teaches young women the correct ways to poison, flutter eyelashes and faint.

It was all good fun. The characters were warm and believable and I enjoyed reading it.

I have to say it sounded much more interesting than the school I went to. I think I would have been good at some of the classes having a quietly deviant nature. Although I’m not sure I would have got on with wearing a corset and proper dress!

Steampunk is an interesting concept though, I wonder if my path will cross with the genre again.

But the exciting news is that I get to choose another book from my reading pile now to start the weekend with.

That’s the beauty of reading there is always someone else for you to fall in love with or new things for you to learn once you finish one book you just pick up the next and carry on!

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

