A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

I have a fondness for witches and vampires, I’ve read some really good books in that vein and I wish I could write like that. They tend to conjure up some really interesting dreams if you read them before bed too!

I think it’s because I developed my imagination when I was a child, that I believe in the possibility, there are magical things in the world which we don’t understand that surround us everyday.

Like when you were thinking about someone and your phones rings and its them, coincidence or magic?!

I really like the depth in the characters and the amount of effort that went into researching the different periods of history mentioned. It feels like you are witnessing a real life account of a conversation with the main character Matthew Clairmont and William Shakespeare or whoever else he is talking about.

The story hinges on a witch who tries to deny she is a witch and a vampire who ends up falling in love with her. But when she stumbles upon a book in the Bodelain Library their lives become intertwined in a way they can’t fully understand.

When Daemons, Vampires and Witches begin to converge on Oxford in search of the witch, her secrets and the book, it becomes clear that nothing will ever be the same again and the creatures will need to join together to protect the future of their species.

I’m not sure I would like to live a prolonged life but being able to travel through history and experience it for yourself would be a pretty cool little trick!

I love the new take on a haunted house, instead of just having ghosts, this house expects visitors and creates new rooms for them complete with furnishings and has many hidden depths.

I read the book quite quickly, as I wanted to know what happened next and now I get to start book two tonight at bedtime! Luckily my birthday is coming up so I put book 3 on my wishlist!

I’m excited to see where the story will go, what parts of history will be visited and in the end if the power of unlikely love really will help save the lives of others.

Sometimes believing in love is as difficult as believing in magic and in some ways I think the two are linked. Love like magic doesn’t always have a happy ending.

2 responses

  1. The whole series is deliciously satisfying – so much so that it is difficult to pick up a novel for me. I’m still back with Matthew and Diana! Excellent!

    1. I’m working my way through book 2 and hopefully book 3 will come my way for my birthday or Xmas!

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

