The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling

TCVPB

I heard a lot of good things about this book when it came out and it had been sitting in my to read pile for a while but I decided to get it out of the way.

A couple of chapters in I found out they had made it into a 3 part drama on the BBC. I’d missed the first part so I had to watch it on catch up and I taped the rest. Now I’ve finished reading I can catch up on the rest of the series.

I never really got into the book. The story was quite slow but by the end it began to take some turns I didn’t completely see coming. I felt the ending was quite rushed once the action started to happen.

I suppose with the election coming up it was a good time to read it seeing as the main point of the story is the election to fill local council position vacated by Barry Fairbrother whose character fills the book without really featuring in person very much.

The characters were very realistic. I live in a small village and could imagine half of them living in my area.

I’ll have to finish watching the series now to see if I enjoy the TV show more than the book but what I saw from the first episode they seem to have made quite a few changes from the book.

I hadn’t read any J.K. Rowling before, I plan on reading the Harry Potter books at some point but I have a lot of books to read first. I quite like her writing style but this book just wasn’t for me.

I’ve spoken to my work colleagues and they had heard mixed reviews about the book. It’s nice we have set up a little reading group sharing books amongst us that we have enjoyed. Although they read a lot more quickly than me!

I tend to keep the books I enjoyed so I can share them with others but this one for me was a one time read.

2 responses

  1. Her style of writing in the HP series is very different than how she writes in “The Casual Vacancy”. This book is honestly the worst story I have ever read. Her latest series, “The Cuckoo’s Calling” and “The Silkworm” are very enjoyable as well. Great post!

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

