Tuesday Cinema Club: The Martian in 3D

We weren’t sure whether we wanted to see the 2D or 3D version of this movie. I’m not a huge 3D fan but this was ok, although I’m not sure the 3D element added that much to the movie.

I didn’t know much about the film going in, I’d heard it was from a book and saw a snippet of the behind the scenes show on Sunday but turned it off quickly before it spoiled it. It’s funny since watching the movie I’ve seen people talking on the internet who thought it was based on a true story.

I wonder if the increase in advanced space travel movies are trying to ready the populace for the idea that the future of humanity might exist in what lies beyond our own planet. There have been a lot of stories about creating a colony on Mars lately so maybe that’s why people think this was a true story.

Although after watching Apollo 18 on DVD the other day I’m not sure whether setting up colonies on other planets is a good idea. I’m still not convinced the movies claim to be based on actual footage is true; video footage can be created by a relatively inexperienced person with enough time on their hands. The 80 hours of actual footage posted on the website lunar truths could have been created to add a dynamic to the movie. Watch it and see what you think.

The Martian could have been a bleak movie, given that it is mostly a single character driving the plot but unlike Gravity there were other elements to it as well. In actual fact there was some well placed humour which helped to pass the time otherwise I could see it becoming a bit boring.

I did laugh afterwards as someone in our group suggested that Ben Affleck might have helped Matt Damon prepare for his role, given his knowledge of being left behind in Armageddon. Ben Affleck knew all along that Bruce Willis would never let him stay behind and therefore Bruce is the one you should call! Bruce was a born movie hero destined to stay behind and save the world at the crucial moment!

As I don’t like to give spoilers in my reviews I won’t say too much about what happens but I would recommend watching the film. Every now and again it’s good to wonder how you would cope in an adverse situation and I don’t know that many people would hav

e coped in the way Mark Watney does.

I’d like to hope I would but in reality I will never find out, space travel doesn’t appeal to me at all. I have enough trouble trying to work out how to be a human on Earth let alone figuring it out on a whole new planet!

Also there isn’t a whole hell of a lot going on up on Mars so you can forget nights out, movies and travel wouldn’t be so fulfilling as it all pretty much looked the same. Once you’ve seen one orange rock crater you’ve seen them all!

But the worst part is if you get bored it would take you a minimum of 7 months to get back to Earth and think of all the Catch Up TV you would need to sit through on your return!

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

