Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey

91kpnjVvctL._SL1500_

As I’ve said before, I normally choose the books I read by their covers. Either that or it was written by someone who I enjoyed reading before.

I got brought a book of Christmas stories last year so I was looking for a short read so I would be finished in time to read the Christmas book in December. As it was I read this book in a couple of weeks, I was so keen to see what would happen.

I didn’t realise it would be about a woman who was losing her mind. Caught in between the present day and the past that haunts her.

Given my Nan is losing her mind I couldn’t help thinking at times I hope she doesn’t end up like this. Because the book illustrated how hard it is for the relatives to cope with a loved ones memory loss.

I saw a glimpse of it yesterday when my Nan wanted to get the train home to Shepherds Bush when she hasn’t lived there in over 50 years.

Elizabeth Is Missing is narrated by Maud who we learn little about physically. The story is her mind wandering through the past and present. She is searching for her sister in the past and her friend, Elizabeth in the present.

There is a nice twist to the ending which I didn’t expect to see coming. I won’t say whether the sister or Elizabeth are found because I wouldn’t want to ruin the story.

I really enjoyed this book. I already have someone lined up who wants to borrow it from me. I don’t read a lot of crime novels, but I’m glad I chose this one.

Our minds are very fragile things. No two people remember a situation in exactly the same way. Not every event is mutually important to those involved. Memories can sometimes bleed into one another in the passage of time. We can sometimes alter the course of events by misremembering and unfairly seeing something that was never there. But by far the cruelest trick is our minds ability to lose the memories we want to keep most sacred, our final moments with loved ones for example.

It’s important to keep your mind active for as long as you can a nurture it as much as possible. Make sure you eat a varied diet and take vitamins to give your body all the nutrients it needs. Because one day you might find yourself trapped in your mind with just your memories for comfort and I hope then they will all be the very best ones you ever had!

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

