Something Interesting I Learned About Football…

I was talking to someone yesterday who is involved with a team in the Hellenic Football League. We were talking about the fact I’d watched Hanwell Town FC v Greys Athletic a few weeks ago.

Hanwell Town was my local club until I was 4, I could see the ground from my bedroom window. I’ve been a few times and it’s nice to see lower league football every now and again. Although I couldn’t watch it every week.

I heard that the attendance at Hanwell was 420, a bit different from the 40,000 I’m used to! But as it was a cup match they lost the home side didn’t take much money from the match.

So I learned yesterday that in order to enter the FA Vase Cup it costs £50 to enter, the home team pays half the costs of the away team and the away team gets a formulaic amount of the gate receipts. The winner of the round gets £800 and the winner of the next round gets £1,200. As the home team didn’t win, in order to play the match it ended up costing them £150.

It made me wonder if Hanwell Town made any money from the Greys match. Greys needed a very late penalty to progress to the next round of the FA Cup. Hanwell Town deserved the draw and a replay at least, which Greys being the fitter team, playing divisions above would probably have won.

On the day Hanwell were unlucky not to put the game at 2 – 1 with a penalty that ended up costing them either a potential win or the draw for the replay. Finally losing the game by the same margin.

You can almost smell Wembley Stadium from Hanwell Town. If it wasn’t for Horsenden Hill you would probably be able to see the arch. But sadly it might as well be light years away for all the chance Hanwell have of playing in a final there.

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

