Spend Time With Your Loved Ones…

After seeing all the horrible news from Paris last night it made me think. Life is too short and none of us knows how long we have here. It made me want to call everyone I care about and check they are all ok, but it would’ve been a bit weird!

Life is about being with the people who make your life better and making memories together. It’s about jumping in the puddles after it rains, getting wet and muddy but having a smile on your face when you do it. Yes I do still do that sometimes and yes is does make me smile!

We forget that the little things people do like saying ‘How are you?’ are the things that make the world go round. Not everything has to be a grand gesture, there are a million tiny and seemingly insignificant ways to show someone you care.

I thought of my friend last night, I don’t know where he is but I know he travels for work. All I could do was hope he was nowhere near Paris last night. I’m sure he’s safe wherever he is.

But it made me think of how much I miss him and want to catch up. It hurts not knowing where he is or being able to check he’s safe. I have to be brave and make contact, to try to heal the divide between us. I might fail but I have to do my best to try.

When all is said and done life is too short to not try to keep the people you care about in your life. It takes work and effort and someone has to be the one to make that effort. In my family that person is me, I keep in touch with people because without that no one else would.

It isn’t easy being the one to always make the effort, but what is the alternative? Missing someone is horrible. If you think about them and are able to make an effort, isn’t it worth trying to contact them?

I believe you should always be honest with people about how you feel and hope they are honest in return. It is better than always wondering what would have happened if you had been a little braver. Maybe you won’t get the answer you were hoping for but you’ll be able to stop wondering!

Maybe you can’t fix the problems and bring everyone back together, sometimes things are just too broken to mend but you’ll know you tried. Some family feuds go on so long that no one can remember what started them in the first place!

So don’t forget people, make a little time in your busy schedule to meet with the people you care about. Even if all you can manage is a quick cup of coffee, make that effort. Don’t leave things unsaid. Call your parents, even if they annoy you.

Love your life, be happy and stop making excuses for putting things off that you really want to do. Tomorrow has its own agenda and it doesn’t share it with you!

2 responses

  1. This is so true. We get so wrapped up in our own issues that we don’t stop and think about how these things can happen and things can change so fast.
    I love you. And I appreciate you every single day. I’d be so lost without you.

    1. I’d be lost without you too! Love you xx 🙂

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

