Time to Change: Let’s End Mental Health Discrimination

Tomorrow is Time To Talk Day and I wanted to mention it as I think it is a really good idea.

Depression touches most of us, one way or another, in our lives and for some it is faced on a regular basis. It isn’t always easy to seek help and advice, especially when you can’t explain how you are feeling or why.

Everyone needs a different type of support when they are feeling down, not everyone wants to talk about their situation.

Personally I found that talking to people who have experienced depression first hand helped. They understood that I don’t always know why I feel it and how quickly I can change.

I also found cognitive behavioural therapy was helpful. At the time the waiting list was shorter for an online course of CBT than face to face CBT or seeing a therapist and I just wanted to start feeling better as soon as possible.

Since the depression has started recurring I have thought whether or not to see the GP and try a medicinal route but I don’t think I’m ready for that just yet. I want to cope on my own. I take a St Johns Wort tablet on the days I feel really low and it seems to help, even if some only consider it to be a placebo.

I’ve always been someone who does best when I have people to confide in and share my thoughts and life with. It hasn’t been easy to do that over the last few months. I’m trying to learn to deal with things on my own and make decisions without sharing them but it isn’t easy to change.

At times I worry that I am learning to shut people out so that I don’t have to face getting close to anyone again and risk losing them. But I don’t think I could change that dramatically. Although the way I interact with some people has changed as I learn to protect myself more from getting hurt.

I think a lot of what causes my depression is my situation and the people around me. I’m normally a happy person and I make people laugh, I’m just not able to be that person all of the time. It doesn’t make me a bad person. Sometimes I just need to be alone and other times being alone is the worst thing I can do.

So if you know anyone who might need some support or if you feel like you need a little help then take some time to read Time to Change: Let’s End Mental Health Discrimination

There are people out there who can help you, there is nothing wrong with seeking out help and advice and believe me you are not the only one who feels that way… once you start talking about depression you’ll be surprised by how many people you know who have their own story to share.

2 responses

  1. i love you.

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

