£200m ship could get called Boaty McBoatface

I first saw this story on Twitter yesterday when someone posted a newspaper article reporting the story. I’ve seen Buzzfeed and Metro reporting on it today.

I think Boaty McBoatface would be a great name for the boat, it appeals to my devious side. My first thought when I read the article – I hope the Queen is launching it as I would love to hear her do her speech and give blessings to Boaty McBoatface before smashing the champagne for luck.

I think it goes to show if you decide to do a public vote for naming anything then you need to come up with a short list of suggestions first! Sadly there are a lot of people like me who see the funny side in naming the boat in that way but when it cost £200m to build it might not be seen as appropriate.

I wonder if it wins whether they will go through with naming it Boaty McBoatface or whether they will take one of the more sensible suggestions.

I feel a special mention should also go out to ‘It’s Bloody Cold Here’, ‘Trotters Independent Traders’, ‘Notthetitanic’, ‘What Iceberg’ and ‘Ice Ice Baby’ who all made me laugh out loud.

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

