The Painter’s Apprentice by Charlotte Betts

The Painter's Apprentice by Charlotte Betts

The Painter’s Apprentice by Charlotte Betts

As I was reading this book is reminded me of a book I had read before The Apothecary’s Daughter. Then I looked at the cover and read the author notes at the end and I realised that this book is a follow on of sorts.

The mother in this book was the daughter in the previous book and this is the story of her grown up daughters life.

I was captivated by the book. The historical elements are so well written I could almost picture myself walking in the streets with the characters and experiencing it all for myself.

I really enjoyed this book. Whilst the historical elements are largely based in fact the characters are created and intertwined in a believable way so I never challenged their authenticity until I read the author notes.

If you enjoyed The Apothecary’s Daughter then you will enjoy this, although you don’t need to have read the first book as this can stand alone. If you like historical fiction novels then this will also appeal to you.

There is something about the distant past of this country that lends itself so wonderfully to these types of book with all the posturing at court, back stabbing, monarchical tyranny, murder, death and crime that allows an author a lot of scope for creating interesting characters.

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

