Tony Hadley: To Cut A Long Story Short

Tony+Hadley+To+Cut+A+Long+Story+Short+403303

I love Spandau Ballet, they made some brilliant songs. I was too young in the 80’s to fully appreciate them in all their glory but as an adult I’ve seen them live twice and would definitely go again. One of the big things I like about them is Tony’s voice, it just makes me smile.

I found this book really interesting. It seems very open and honest and discusses the various legal wranglings that went on between mostly Tony and Gary Kemp. It ended up changing my opinion of Gary in the end. I always thought he was a nice down to earth guy but in this book he comes across as holding a vendetta against the other members of the group which seems wholly ridiculous.

Its worth pointing out that the legal elements of this book are all told from one side but the fact it was printed must mean that the facts have been checked somewhere along the lines. For example suing 3 ex members of the band for calling themselves Ex-Spandau Ballet seems baffling when that is indeed what they are and when someone you grew up with needs to make a bit of money what’s the harm? Who knows how many records were sold on the back of those performances?!

But it isn’t all about the bad times. The book starts at the very beginning and the more you learn the stranger the later events appear. The copy I have was updated to the point of Tony receiving a request to reform the band in 2005 for a comeback tour and by the end he hadn’t made a decision. Seeing what went before it would seem impossible that they ever managed to reform, I would imagine that a pretty in depth contract was drawn up this time before it did.

If you like reading music biographies then I would recommend this book. Even if you aren’t especially a Spandau fan there is still a lot of interesting stories that show the other side of what is seen as a glamorous career.

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

