Bomber Command Memorial, Green Park, London

P1030443

After reading Bomber Boys I developed an interest in the plight of the WWII pilots. I found it very interesting, especially when out of all the people who fought in the war the impact of Bomber Command was never fully publicly recognised by Winston Churchill at the end of the war and I found that incredibly sad.

This fact has now been rectified thanks to the people who campaigned for years, the permanent memorial to Bomber Command was opened in Green Park in 2012. It is on the corner of Green Park, near Hyde Park Corner, if you want to visit.

I found it incredibly moving, standing and looking on at the statue of the flight crew, ready to take to the skies. I must say I had a tear in my eye when I read the description on the board above, luckily I was wearing my sunglasses so no one saw.

We have an almost annual flight past in our village of a Spitfire, Lancaster or one of the bombing planes, whatever is flying on that day and every time I get goosebumps hearing that engine overhead and I wasn’t born until over 30 years after the end of the war.

I made my mind up when it opened that I would go and pay my respects but I don’t think it will be my only visit. The one thing I thought was a shame, compared to other war monuments is that the names of those who were lost were not engraved on the structure. I imagine it would be far too costly but had it been built nearer to the end of the war I think that would have been a certainty. But either way their sacrifice will never be forgotten.

P1030437

P1030434          P1030435

Leave a Reply

20 day world

World of stories that I've read and stories that I write.

Wanderlust Traveler

I'm slightly obsessed with quotes

MLF Blog

Thanks for visiting!

Angry Boater Joel Sanders

Joel Sanders Saunders angry boater boat narrowboat comedy comedian CRT

